Lauby, Mankin & Lauby, LLP specializes in recovering wages for automobile mechanics and technicians. We are experts at negotiating with dealerships and repair shops in order to recover wages owed to auto mechanics and technicians. Did you know that the state of California provides several protections for mechanics and automobile techs? Contact us if your current or previous employer has failed to meet any of the requirements listed below.
Automobile Mechanics/Technicians Must Be Paid For Every Hour On-Duty
Many automobile mechanics are paid based on a flat rate basis. This means that the mechanic is paid based on vehicles repaired and revenue generated, which is commonly calculated based on the number of hours flagged. However, some auto dealerships and repair facilities fail to pay all mandatory wages to flat rate mechanics. Automobile mechanics are entitled to be paid for all hours flagged PLUS be separately paid for all time at work when not flagging hours (such as waiting for work, downtime, shop clean up, attending meetings, free multi-point inspections, free diagnostic work, re-do repairs, unpaid repairs/work, test drives, time it takes to retrieve and return a car to the lot, driving to pick up parts, and any other time you are required to be at work but are not flagging hours). Additionally, you are entitled to be paid overtime wages for all hours on-duty in excess of 8 hours per shift and/or 40 hours per week.
Mechanics can generally recover unpaid wages up to 4 years prior to the filing of an action, and recovery penalties ranging from 1 year to 3 years prior to filing the action in most cases, plus attorneys fees, costs and interest. We can handle most mechanic wage cases at no charge to the mechanic, as we get paid by the employer if your case settles or you prevail at trial.
Common examples of violations include:
If you were not be paid correctly at your current or former employer, you may be entitled to recover all unpaid wages, interest, penalties and attorneys fees.
Many repair facilities require mechanics to supply their own hand tools. This is legal; however, the mechanic must be paid double minimum wage (currently $20/hour) when required to bring their own tools. This additional wage required by California law recognizes that mechanics take pride in their tools and contribute a significant portion of their income to maintain and build their tool collection.
If you suffered any of these violations at any repair facility in California within the last four years, contact Lauby, Mankin & Lauby LLP for a free consultation. Our attorneys are very experienced in representing auto mechanics and other piece rate workers, and we typically handle these cases on a contingency fee basis such that you are not required to pay any fee unless you recover.
We are currently engaged in lawsuits on behalf of our clients with the following repair facilities for unpaid wages and other violations. If you worked at one of these facilities or another, and wish to provide information or make a claim, please contact Lauby. Mankin & Lauby LLP for a free consultation.
Contact Lauby, Mankin & Lauby, LLP today for a free consultation in your employee violation case. Click here to contact Southern California’s leader in defending employee rights.